Baking along with the bake off: baking with batter

19 Sep

So this week’s Bake Off was all about batter. I was brought up on Yorkshire puddings, with my grandma’s pudding recipe being legendary in my family.

Sadly though I share Jane’s pain – it’s been an embarrassment of mine for years that I can’t make them, despite my dad’s best efforts.

Until now.

I decided to forget about my inability to make them and to instead treat the recipe like I would a cake. 

I thought I’d also try two sizes of cake tin too just to be on the safe side.

And it worked! Woo hoo!

Ok so they’re slightly over baked and some are a little flat (not enough batter I think) but I’m pretty proud of myself. 

 

Seriously though…

  
I ate four!!

I’m looking forward to pastry week and seeing what they all come up with. It’ll be another hard task for me too as pastry isn’t a strength of mine…

One Response to “Baking along with the bake off: baking with batter”

  1. Confuzzled Bev September 20, 2016 at 7:19 am #

    Yummy!! I love Yorkshire puddings.

Leave a Reply

