Baking along with the Bake Off: the good old Jaffa Cake

29 Aug

It would seem as though everyone is making Jaffa Cakes this week. I am no exception.

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE the Great British Bake Off. For me, it’s the only thing that makes the summer transition into autumn bearable.

The first episode didn’t disappoint. With a record number of cake do-overs, and enough innuendos to keep all the non-bakers like my boyfriend happy, there was plenty to entertain us all.

My initial favourite is Selasi and I have to admit I’ve got a soft spot for Val.

For the last few years I’ve attempted to bake along with the Bake Off and failed miserably. This year I’m going to try harder.

So, like everyone else in the country, I decided to give Jaffa cakes a try.

I’m not going to lie, I found it hard – even with Mary Berry’s recipe! I definitely won’t be applying for the Bake Off anytime soon. 

   

  

I’ve always loved Jaffa Cakes but I appreciate them all the more after today. Never again will I turn my nose up at a not-quite-centre jelly circle in a Jaffa Cake!

I enjoyed it though – and they taste pretty nice, even if I do say so myself.

In case you haven’t had a go yet and would like to try them out, you can find Mary’s recipe here

 Next week is biscuit week. Argh!

One Response to “Baking along with the Bake Off: the good old Jaffa Cake”

  1. Confuzzled Bev August 29, 2016 at 2:19 pm #

    Yummy! I definitely need to give this a go – love a Jaffa Cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

