The Botanist: bit of a miss

19 May

I didn’t think I’d write these words, having heard such good reviews, but I wasn’t overly impressed with The Botanist.

I tried – and loved – the drinks menu quite soon after it opened but had struggled to book in to the restaurant. You know somewhere must be good if you have to book months in advance right? 

Sadly, I left feeling a little disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the food – who couldn’t love a runny scotch egg, calamari and a hanging kebab coated in garlic butter?!? 

  
But it wasn’t ‘out of this world, I’ve waited for months for this food, delicious’. It was just ‘having a nice meal out on a Saturday tasty’.

Considering how far in advance we’d booked, our table was pretty rubbish too. Slap bang in the middle of the restaurant, we couldn’t see outside nor did we have a view of the fab tree that makes the botanist the botanist!

The staff were really lovely and the drinks were fab (we tried a fair few of them too!) but I don’t think I’ll be returning for food in a hurry. 

One Response to “The Botanist: bit of a miss”

  1. bevchen May 20, 2016 at 1:22 pm #

    My sister loves it there, but only for the drinks. She said the food is okay, but it’s the cocktails they go for.

Leave a Reply

