2016 Reading Challenge: Book 4 complete

3 Apr

Book four of the reading challenge was meant to be ‘the first book I saw in a bookstore’.

I got quite excited with this one, mostly because it allowed me to break my long  self-imposed book buying ban (which, incidentally I’ve had to impose again as buying this book led to the buying of quite a few more!!!)

The Rose of Tibet wasn’t strictly the first book I saw in the bookstore. It was the first book I saw in the window – before I even entered the book store, which I think is even better.  
Having said that, it ended up ticking a totally different book, allowing me to break my ban again at some point this year 🙂

Instead, I’m choosing to tick the ‘book about a culture I’m unfamiliar with’ box, as I figured this would be harder to find. Technically I could also tick the ‘book about a road trip’ box, and if I wanted to cheat I’d tick all 3 (especially given the fact there’s 40 boxes althogether and there’s no chance of me getting through them all) but I don’t want to cheat so I’ll leave it at one.

Interestingly, my writing style is starting to mimick that of this month’s chosen author, Lionel Davidson, who is the perfect example of ‘why use one word when you can use 20’, something which ordinarily really annoys me as a journalist. 

It’s fair to say that he goes into a lot of description about everything in this book, which at first I found annoying. His way with words is so interesting though that I soon forgave him and instead found quite endearing by the end of the book.

I certainly felt more intelligent for reading this book, which is unusual given the type of fiction I usually choose!

This book gives a fascinating insight into the Tibetan culture (as you’ve no doubt guessed from the title!). What I found particularly interesting were the rituals and beliefs, and the idea of destinies already  having been written. I have no idea how accurate this book is in that sense but it was fascinating none the less.

If you’re squeamish, this book definitely isn’t for you. Its also quite heavy going in places and takes a while to get into due to the drawn out introduction and foreword, which are unfortunately necessary to understand the rest of the book. It’s a great tale though and one I would definitely recommend.

On to book five by the beginning of April – not bad so far!

Leave a Reply

