2016 Reading Challenge: By accident!

13 Feb

Despite really enjoying last year’s reading challenge,  I decided I would give it a miss this year after reading the list. It seemed too hard.

But without meaning to I’ve already ticked two boxes so what the hell, I might as well give it a go!

Technically the first one was cheating. First of all, I started it last year and secondly, it doesn’t really fit in the box I’m categorising it into but this is my challenge so I don’t care.

  
Self Help is not the book I was expecting it to be.

Before I go any further, I feel I ought to tell you I don’t read self help books so when I picked it up that wasn’t what I was expecting it to be. I can’t really tell you what I expected; I picked it up based purely on the cover (I know that old cliche is whirling round your head as you read on!), which was why I started reading it late last year – to tick the box ‘a book based entirely on its cover’. I can’t even tell you what it was about the cover that made me buy it, I just thought it looked interesting. And I was right.

Since I didn’t finish it until this week, I’m no longer allowing that one. Instead I’m ticking my first box from the 2016 list – a self improvement book’. Yes, I’ve already said I’m cheating. It’s most certainly not a self improvement book but it does include a story about one, slightly. 

It’s quite a long read, not necessarily in pages but in the frame of mind you need to be in to read it. I really enjoyed it but it’s definitely not a light hearted bedtime read.

It was long listed for a Man Booker Prize. It’s definitely worth reading if you spot it in a book shop, even if it’s purely based on the cover 🙂

As is my way, I switched from a heavy read to the lightest one I could find on my book shelf…

 
And, thanks to a six-hour round trip to London today, this book helped me tick the next box – ‘a book you can finish in a day’. 

Go me!

While I choose book number 3, why not pop on over to Popsugar and see if you fancy having a go? 

Leave a Reply

