Weekday treat: Peace and Loaf

5 Aug

Ever since it opened in 2013, I’ve been eyeing up Peace and Loaf in Jesmond.

It always seemed like somewhere that would be too posh for me but the boyfriend’s birthday felt like the perfect opportunity to give it a try.

Seeing they’d jumped on the Restaurant Week bandwagon and put a deal on – two courses for £20 to be precise – simply sealed the deal. The boyfriend didn’t even seem to mind celebrating a few weeks early.

  

I couldn’t have been more wrong about it being too posh. Walking inside, I was immediately at ease. The staff were super friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed.

While waiting for starters we were surprised with a little tasting plate. I couldn’t tell you what they were but they were delightful. 

  
The warm bread and whipped beef dripping were amazing – and I can’t stand beef dripping normally!

For our first course, we both ordered the chicken and ham pie terrine. It looked stunning and the flavours were lovely.

  
Next up was an amuse bouche, which I couldn’t describe and forgot to take a picture of, but was another pleasant surprise.

It was closely followed by my main course – bbq leeks with confit duck eggs and rice. I only picked it to see what a confit duck egg was like. Gorgeous! 

  
The boyfriend was pretty pleased with his belly pork too and we both loved the bone marrow chips which we chose as a side order.

  
Being obsessed with sweet things, I couldn’t not order dessert. And the assiette of desserts had our name on it.

  

Overall it was well worth paying a little bit extra!

Altogether our meal came to just under £70, which we thought was pretty reasonable considering the experience we had.

Obviously it’s not somewhere I’d go every day, it’s definitely a once in a while treat, but I wouldn’t hesitate to go back!

Peace and loaf is run by MasterCard finalist Dave Coulson and can be found on Jesmond Road. I would highly recommend!

One Response to “Weekday treat: Peace and Loaf”

  1. bevchen August 7, 2015 at 5:30 am #

    Yum, it looks lovely. And £70 seems reasonable for all that.

Leave a Reply

