Friday baking – but naan as you know it

9 Jan

So it’s January and, like everyone, the boyfriend and I are truly skint.

We don’t fancy giving up our weekend treats though so we set about making our own takeaway.

We cheated by using boil in the bag rice and a packet sauce for our chicken curry but we saved some cash by making our own naans. This was where I came in.

After finding an easy looking recipe on Good Food I set to work on my first ever attempt at naan breads. I couldn’t wait to make use of my new ceramic bowl from Santa 😊

2015/01/img_5929.jpg
I ended up needing quite a lot more flour than the recipe said as my mixture was quite wet and I think kneading definitely needs more work but I felt quite chuffed setting my little bundle aside to proof.

2015/01/img_5931.jpg
Sadly I don’t have anywhere warm to prove so it didn’t go too well…
Still, they looked pretty nice after I rolled them (like the rolling pin?!)

2015/01/img_5935.jpg
I found myself doing a bake-off style oven watch, making sure to turn them regularly, but sadly it soon became clear that they were a baking miss. They didn’t look like any naan I’ve ever seen…

2015/01/img_5937.jpg
They didn’t taste like your average naan either! But they WERE edible and actually we both quite fancied another when we were done so I’m taking that as a positive!

Have you ever made naan? I’d love to hear your secrets!

One Response to “Friday baking – but naan as you know it”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Takeaway shmakeaway | amysallthingsnice - February 8, 2015

    […] to us by our lovely foodie penpal, Teresa. She’d packed it in our parcel after reading my naan bread post, which I thought was really sweet. They were pretty easy to make too – just mix […]

Leave a Reply

