Bake for Life

7 May

Every year for the last six years my friend Caroline and I have taken part in the Race for Life, raising money for Cancer Research UK.

But, as the years have gone on, I’ve found it harder and harder to ask for sponsorship money. At a time when everyone is always asking for sponsorship for something, what makes my annual 5k walk/ run any different?!

So this year I decided to take a different tact – bake for life! Instead of asking for money, I’ll just bake and ask for donations. (It’s also a great way to use up stuff in my cupboards and work my way through my baking books!)

This week is week five. Week one started with caramel cupcakes, then we had marshmallow cupcakes, then Easter chocolate brownies. Week four was banana loaf (the first week I remembered to take a picture)!

20140427-211827.jpg

This week was fruit muffins, made with (defrosted) frozen berries. Not the best muffins I’ve ever made but went down quite well…

I bought a metal tin from Poundland (the kind you can only open with a tin opener) and plan to hand that in with my donation bag on the day of my race. It’s already filling up, making the long baking days more than worth it 🙂

Will keep you posted with how I get on (when I actually remember to blog)!

Leave a Reply

