Home is where the heart is

14 Apr

What do you think of when you think of home?

For me it’s easy. My nan’s apple pie with custard.

But how to convert pie into a cake? That was today’s challenge as I dipped my toes into Derby Clandestine Cake Club.

After googling apple pie cake I only came across American recipes I couldn’t figure out how to change so I decided on an apple cake.

My first recipe was a disaster – an undercooked oily disaster to be precise. But as date night meant I didn’t have time to bake another last night, I went back to a recipe I tried in November for toffee apple cake, found on allrecipes.co.uk
I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before to be honest, as yet again it worked perfectly.

I made several attempts at custard icing and failed miserably. If any of you have a recipe or an idea I would happily accept it 🙂

In the end, with just half an hour to go until the club, I decided just to use ready made custard. Bit of a cop out I know but I had no other option.

As always my cake was by far the most rustic looking but it tasted nice.

20130414-161600.jpg

In case you fancy having a go, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:
3 eggs
200g caster sugar
375g self raising flour
280g vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp salt
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
500g apple, peeled, cored and chopped

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 180C and grease 25cm cake tin
2. Beat eggs until foamy then gradually add sugar
3. Combine flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda then add to egg mixture
4. Stir in apples and transfer to tin
5. Bake for 1hr 10min or until a skewer comes out clean (mine needed an extra 10mins). Leave in tin for 10 mins and transfer to cooling rack.

And there we have it. Easy as (apple) pie!

The venue was the Aga shop in Derby which, aside from being boiling due to the Aga being on, was a lovely venue.

Aga’s have always fascinated me and I never knew how much they cost. I know I’ll never be able to afford one bit it was great to look. They also sell giant teapots which were perfect for the occasion!

I had a great time and will definitely be going to the next Derby event.

I forgot to take a picture while I was there but this gives you an idea of the yummy cakes on offer.

20130414-163648.jpg

Leave a Reply

