If at first you don’t succeed…try seven years later

12 Sep

It’s no secret that baking – and well cooking in general if I’m honest – is relatively new to me.

My daily regime at university consisted mostly of chicken kievs and ready meals but on the odd occasion I did attempt to try my hand at being a domestic goddess.

One such occasion, which is sadly etched onto my memory for good, is the night I attempted to make toad in the hole.

I always thought I’d be good at Yorkshire puddings. I am from Yorkshire after all and the Watkins Yorkshire puds are quite famous (at least within the family anyway).

Turned out I was wrong.

I can’t quite remember why but the escapade ended in me nursing a bowl of goo in the microwave (can’t quite remember why the microwave was involved) and feeling utterly ashamed of myself.

This week I rectified that, all with the help of my new favourite book, Cook yourself Thin.

Now it would seem this book has been around for years. I for one, however, had never heard of it until a chance encounter at the local library on my lunch break.

“Toad in the hole – a healthy recipe?” you may ask. Yes is the answer, or at least slightly healthier.

Ok so one side of the hole is a bit dodgy but otherwise I’m incredibly proud of myself πŸ™‚ 
Oh and it was the first time I made my own gravy too!
As usual, here’s the recipe
Ingredients
For the toad in the hole:
65g plain flour
100ml skimmed milk
1 egg
1tsp rosemary
1tsp thyme
1tsp salt
black pepper
8 lean sausages (I used five normal sausages I had leftover in the freezer)
1tbsp oil
For the gravy:
1tsp oil
1 large onion
2 beef stock cubes
1 tbsp cornflour mixed with 2tbsp cold water
Method
1. Preheat the oven to 200 deg c
2. Sieve the flour into a large mixing bowl and make a well in the middle of the heap of flour. Pour the milk into the hollow then add the eggs and herb, salt and pepper and whisk. Leave to rest at room temperature.
3. Prick the sausages and coat in olive oil. Place in a large cooking dish and put in the oven for 15 minutes to brown. Once browned, pour the batter into the dish. Cook for a further 35 minutes or until the batter has risen and is golden brown.
4. Fry off the onion and dissolve the stock cubes and cornflour in 1 pint of boiling water before adding to the onion. Cook gently until thickened.
5. Cut the toad into quarters and serve with fresh vegetables. Spoon gravy over and enjoy!

2 Responses to “If at first you don’t succeed…try seven years later”

  1. Nicola February 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    That looks gorgeous! You should be proud. love toad in the hole πŸ™‚

    • Dad xx February 17, 2013 at 1:30 am #

      looking good Amy , i put 1/2 glass of water ( mums old trick ) and 3 eggs it tends to rise a lot more and becomes thinner so therefore more crispier

Leave a Reply

