Caramel dreaming (kind of)

14 Nov

Today my usually strong immune system decided to succumb to my boyfriend’s cold, leaving me feeling well and truly sorry for myself.
The cure? A dose of lemsip and Hummingbird’s caramel cupcakes.
I’ve been meaning to make them since I bought the new Cake Days book but until last weekend hadn’t been able to find the Carnation Caramel needed to make them (anyone looking for it should go straight to your local Asda).
Whether it’s my rubbish cold or just a bad first attempt, the cakes didn’t quite come out as I hoped. The first batch exploded after I filled the cupcake cases too high and the second batch didn’t rise enough. But caramel frosting solves a magnitude of sins and despite their less than perfect insides, they’ve come out quite well.
I’m yet to master the caramel hearts though!
Here’s the best one:

Leave a Reply

